Latest news

Greatest of All Time Confirmed to Fight in Out for the 90th Monte Carlo Rally

We know the entry list for the 90th Monte-Carlo Rally and yes it is confirmed that the Greatest of All Time (GOAT), 9 time WRC Champion Sébastien Loeb will make a reappearance in the WRC championship by taking part in this 90th Monte-Carlo Rally from January 20th to January 23rd at the wheel of a Ford Puma Hybrid 1. 

The 47 year old will participate in Monte Carlo, which he has already won seven times before, when he returns from the Dakar, where he is battling for a podium place after 11 stages. He is driving in the M-Sport camp which also includes Craig Breen, Gus Greensmith and Adrien Fourmaux.

Toyota Yaris

Of course, Seb Loeb is up against the current world ace who is hot on his heels for a historic record. That is Sébastien Ogier, who won his 8th WRC champion title last year so is only one short of Loeb. He holds the record of successes in the Principality (eight successes spread between 2009 and 2021),

Sébastien Ogier, will have the number 1 pinned to the doors of his Toyota Yaris. The Japanese manufacturer has entered a total of four cars. Elfyn Evans, Kalle Rovanperä and TakamotoKatsuta are also in the squad.

Hyundai with the 2020 winner 

At Hyundai, the three competing with the i20N will include the more than expert Thierry Neuville crowned in 2020, Ott Tänakand Oliver Solberg.

The Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA) has released the list of the crews limited to 75 selected by the Automobile Club de Monaco (ACM) for this opening round of the world rally championship set in the Principality next week. 

So 75 competitors in total will take part in the 90th edition of the Monte-Carlo Rally set up this time specially at the foot of the Rock, for the first time since 2006. The more than 100 entry requests received by the ACM were cut down to 75 to respect the capacity of the car park anchored opposite Port Hercules for four days.

This 90th edition will comprise stages solely in the Alpes-Maritimes and the Alpes-de-Haute-Provence (4 stages, 17 special stages) and in addition this time features new cars of the premier category (Rally1) powered by a hybrid engine.

And look out for home favourites in the regional stage ….in particular Eric Camilli (Citroën C3 Rally2), François Delecour(Alpine A110 RGT), Frédérik Casciani (Skoda Fabia Rally2), Luc Pistachi (Skoda Fabia Rally2) and Anthony Fotia (Renault Clio Rally5).

Show More
Back to top button