Latest newsSport

Monaco’s Double Celebration: Senna Tribute Parade and Race Winners Announced

Prince Albert II participated in the 14th Monaco Historic Grand Prix parade, which paid tribute to the memory of Ayrton Senna on 11 May. Bruno Senna (Ayrton Senna’s nephew) Thierry Boutsen and Charles Leclerc all joined the Prince in commemorating the triple F1 world champion and six-time winner of the Monaco Grand Prix. Ayrton Senna lost his life thirty years ago, on 1 May 1994, after a crash on the Imola circuit.

Monaco’s Historic Grand Prix
Prince Albert II at the 14th Monaco Historic Grand Prix
Monaco’s Historic Grand Prix
Prince Albert II at the 14th Monaco Historic Grand Prix
Monaco’s Historic Grand Prix
Thierry Boutsen

Five of the racing legend’s cars were featured in the parade, from the kart he drove to become South American champion in 1977 to his 1990 McLaren MP4/5 B. Behind the wheel of Senna’s 1985 Lotus 97T was non other than Thierry Boutsen. Ayrton Senna won the Monaco Grand Prix race more times than any other driver, with six victories (including five consecutive wins between 1989 and 1993) and his record remains unbeaten to this day.

Those nostalgic for the “F1 of yesteryear” and so many fans of Ayrton Senna, attended this exceptional parade in honour of the great Brazilian champion, organised by the Automobile Club de Monaco (ACM), in close collaboration with the Instituto Ayrton Senna, Lotus Héritage and the McLaren Academy.

Monaco’s Historic Grand Prix

Monaco’s Historic Grand Prix
Here is more information on the beautiful Senna iconic racing machines paraded.

Senna’s go-kart in 1977
At the wheel of this go-kart, 17-year-old Ayrton Senna became South American Champion in 1977, during a race organised in Uruguay, in the town of San José.

Young Senna also finished 2nd at the Brazilian Championship, on the Interlagos track. This go-kart now belongs to McLaren F1 Team Principal Zak Brown.

Formula Ford 2000: Senna’s Van Diemen RF82 in 1982
After a very successful 1981 season (12 wins in 20 Formula Ford 1600 races, British Champion), Senna discovered the Van Diemen RF82 equipped with a much more powerful 2-litre engine. At just 22 years of age, he went on to win a record number of races (22) and the European Championship title.

Formula 3: the Ralt RT3 at the 1983 Macau Grand Prix
The 1983 Formula 3 season was dominated by an insatiable Ayrton Senna, despite the formidable competition from a young Englishman, Martin Brundle, who gave him a hard time. The Brazilian came even closer to F1 by finishing British Champion with 12 victories. On November 20, 1983, Senna rounded off his masterclass with a prestigious victory at the Macau Grand Prix, at the wheel of this Toyota-powered Ralt RT3 entered by West Surrey Racing team and local billionaire Teddy Yip.

Formula 1: the 1984 Toleman TG184
This was the first F1 car driven by Ayrton Senna in the World Championship. Designed by Rory Byrne, it was very heavy, without power steering and powered by a British turbo engine, a Hart with around 600bhp. He scored three podiums in this car, including his famous 2nd place in Monaco, behind Alain Prost, in torrential rain that prompted Jacky Ickx to wave the red flag. They remain the only three podium finishes in the history of the British team founded by Ted Toleman.

Formula 1: the 1985 Lotus 97T
Powered by a 1.5-litre Renault V6 turbo engine developing 760bhp, the Lotus 97T (T for turbo) was the F1 car in which the future “Magic Senna” won his first two Grands Prix, at Estoril and Spa-Francorchamps. It was equipped with several liquid crystal displays in the cockpit, a novelty at the time. It was a delight for Senna, who was very data-hungry. This now legendary single-seater also enabled the Brazilian to take his first seven pole positions, all in 1985. This Lotus 97T was driven in the Parade by Belgian Thierry Boutsen, who has won three times in F1 and who finished on the podium 15 times.

Formula 1: the 1990 McLaren MP4/5B
This McLaren MP4/5B was driven in 1990 by Ayrton Senna and his new team-mate Gerhard Berger, following Alain Prost’s departure to Ferrari. It was an evolution of the previous season’s MP4/5, fitted with a new Honda V10 engine. This model took 6 victories and 12 pole positions that year, which concluded with two new world titles, drivers’ and constructors’, for Senna and McLaren. And there was a spectacular finale at Suzuka, when the Brazilian deliberately eliminated his great French rival. In the Parade in the streets of Monaco, this amazing single-seater was driven by Bruno Senna, the nephew of the three-time world champion, who competed in 46 F1 Grands Prix.

Monaco’s Historic Grand Prix


Winners of the 14th Edition of The Grand Prix Historique de Monaco

And following Saturday’s emotional Parade was Sunday’s finale of the races in the 14th Grand Prix Historique.

On race day the Grand Prix de Monaco Historique delivered a spectacle as each car crossed the finish line. History was made anew, ensuring that the legacy of Monaco’s racing heritage continues to inspire generations.

Monaco’s Historic Grand Prix Monaco’s Historic Grand Prix
And now to salute this year’s winners:

Race A1 – Monaco Hero Louis CHIRON Pre-War Grand Prix cars and Voiturettes


Race A2 – Juan Manuel FANGIO Front-engine Grand Prix cars built before 1961


Race B – Graham HILL Rear-engine, 1500, F1 Grand Prix cars from 1961 to 1965 and F2


Race C – Vittorio MARZOTTO Front- Engine Sport Racing cars from 1952 to 1957


Race D – Jackie STEWART F1 Grand Prix cars 3L from 1966 to 1972


Race E – Niki LAUDA F1 Grand Prix cars 3L from 1973 to 1976


Race F – Gilles VILLENEUVE F1Grand Prix cars 3L from 1977 to 1980


Race G – Ayrton SENNAF1 Grand Prix cars 3L from 1981 to 1985


Monaco’s Historic Grand Prix

Monaco’s Historic Grand Prix

Show More
Back to top button