Latest news

Voting is closed, the next Golden Foot Champion is soon revealed in Monaco

Voting for the Champion Winner in activity is closed. On the 29th November 2021 he will be awarded the prestigious recognition and he will leave his own footprint on the famous Champions’ Promenade of the Principality of Monaco.

Among the various football legends: Paolo Maldini, Gabriel Batistuta, Günther Netzer, Gabriele Oriali will be awarded.

Ten candidates and only one winner. Who is going to succeed Cristiano Ronaldo, awarded in 2020?

Golden Foot Award
Paolo Maldini ©IOLFOTO

The expectation is growing to see who will be awarded the 19th Golden Foot Award, the unique prize worldwide that can be given a player only once in his career and that opens the door for the only place in the world where all the best footballers ever leave their footprints for the eternity: the famous Champions Promenade in the Principality of Monaco.

The event is scheduled for the most distinguished Champion’s Gala, organized in the Salle d’Or (Golden Hall) in Fairmont Monte-Carlo. The Prize Ceremony will take place on Monday, the 29th November 2021 at 8 p.m., instead of the 9th November as previously officially announced by the organization on the 10th September last.

It is going to be a great World Football Day since, in the same evening, it will be given The Golden Ball (Ballon d’Or) in Paris.

“At first, we were surprised at the decision of our friends in the France Football League – the Organizer of Golden Foot Award said – Then we thought that their choice to award the prize on the same day of the 19th Golden Foot Award, can only celebrate even more the Football and pay tribute to its protagonists.

For the Golden Foot, basically, it comes to thank the fans and enthusiasts from all over the world, because they are the only ones to vote the most deserving champion who will leave his footprint for all eternity”.

Voting was carried out on the official website and ended on the 31st October, 2021. The 10 top champions selected for this edition, having turned 28, are: Lionel Messi, Robert Lewandowski, Giorgio Chiellini, Neymar Jr., Mohamed Salah, Sergio Ramos, Sergio Aguero, Gerard Piqué, Karim Benzema, Romelu Lukaku.

Golden Foot Award
Gabriel Batistuta ©Getty

In addition to the winner, great champions of the past will be present, among them: Paolo Maldini, Gabriel Batistuta, Günther Netzer e Gabriele Oriali. They will be awarded the Golden Foot Legend Award, while the Golden Foot Prestige Award, established in 2020, will reward a Club president in activity, who stood out for the results achieved with his team.

Golden Foot Award
Gabriele Oriali @Golden Foot Award

The Champions Promenade in the Principality of Monaco welcomes until today over than 90 top world champions’ footprints, among them: Maradona, Pelé, Eusebio, Zinedine Zidane, Cristiano Ronaldo, George Best, Ferenc Puskás, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Roberto Baggio.

Conceived and organized by World Champions Club in the Principality of Monaco, the Golden Foot Award was born in 2003 and since its first edition it has been under the High Patronage of H.S.H. Prince Albert II of Monaco.

Show More
Back to top button