Latest news

Monte-Carlo Film Festival: Celebrate the 20th Edition of Comedy More Hilarious Than Ever

Monte-Carlo Film Festival explodes on the scene at the Grimaldi Forum from April 24 to 29, 2023 with international guests Mira Sorvino and Costa Gavras. Among the Italians will be: Anna Foglietta, Marco d’Amore and Marco Giallini.

The 20th edition of the Monte-Carlo Film Festival de la Comédie, conceived and directed by Ezio Greggio, takes place from April 24 to 29 in the Principality of Monaco.

“This year is extraordinary both for the beautiful films from around the world and for the exceptional jury”, declared Ezio Greggio.

Monte-Carlo Film Festival

According to tradition, the Festival will end with the Gala evening on Saturday April 29 which this year will see the participation of S.A.S. Prince Albert II of Monaco, as guest of honour. The Gala evening will be hosted by Ezio Greggio, president and creator of the event. Its co-presenter will be Elenoire Casalegno who will award the prizes to the films in competition, in the company of friends and colleagues from the world of cinema and TV. In particular, international and Italian stars are gathering in Monaco to celebrate the twentieth edition of the Festival. 

Monte-Carlo Film Festival
Giancarlo Giannini and Ezio Greggio
Monte-Carlo Film Festival
Nathalie Poza and Ezio Greggio

How To Attend The Festival

The screenings will take place in the Salle Camille Blanc of the Grimaldi Forum; admission for the public is free while seats last.

To attend the “Gala des Awards” on Saturday 29 April at 7:30 p.m. in the Salle Prince Pierre of the Grimaldi Forum, tickets are on sale at the Grimaldi Forum box office or on the website

Infoline +377 99993000

The Festival Program 

The opening film of the fair is screened at April 24th at 8 p.m. It will be: GROSSO GUAIO ALL’ESQUILINO: LA LEGGENDA DEL KUNG FU (Out of competition, Italy) directed by YouNuts! With Lillo Petrolo, Carolina Crescentini and Giorgio Colangeli.

Monte-Carlo Film Festival
Lillo ©S.Chiappalone MCFF

Films In Competition

Screening April 25, 4 p.m.
directed by Benjamin Lehrer
(In competition, France),

Screening April 25, 8 p.m.
directed by Jeremy Lalonde
(In competition, Canada)

Screening April 26 at 11 a.m.
directed by Paprika Steen.
(In Competition, Denmark)

Screening April 26 at 4 p.m.
directed by Mika Kaurismaki.
(In competition, Finland)

Screening April 26, 8 p.m.
directed by Cesc Gay
(In competition, Spain)

Screening April 27 at 11 a.m.
directed by Antonio Lukich.
(In competition, Ukraine)

Screening April 27 at 4 p.m.
directed by Dani de la Orden.
(In competition, Spain)

Screening April 27, 8 p.m.
directed by Marina Seresesky.
(In competition, Argentina)

Non-Cinema Competition

Out of competition, in addition to “GROSSO GUAIO ALL’ESQUILINO: LA LEGGENDA DEL KUNG FU”, two exceptional films:

EL CUARTO PASAJERO (Out of competition, Spain)
Screening April 28 at 4 p.m.
directed by Alex de la Iglesia.

Screening April 28, 8 p.m.
directed by Volfango De Biasi
(Out of competition, Italy)

The event, in collaboration with EFG Bank (Monaco), has always taken place under the High Patronage of H.S.H. Prince Albert II of Monaco and the Italian Embassy. Radio Monte Carlo has been the Festival’s official radio since first edition.

Like every year, Marlù Gioielli participates in the festival with an important message: Marlù encourages people to pursue their dreams.

Another exceptional guest at the Monte-Carlo Film Festival will be Costa-Gavras, the Greek director and film producer naturalized as French, who will receive the “Legend Award” 

There will be many other international stars recognized: Mira Sorvino, winner of the 1996 Oscars for the film “Mighty Aphrodite” (Woody Allen) will receive the MCFF Award for the films that have made her famous throughout the world.

On stage also the actress Anna Foglietta (“Perfetti sconosciuti”, “The American” “Nessuno mi può giudicare”), will receive the “Attrice dell’Anno” (Actress of the Year) award.

In this year’s edition, the special prize for new faces of cinema, Next Generation Award will be given to Federico Cesari (“Skam”, “Anni da cane”, “Buongiorno Mamma”) for his interpretation in “Tutto chiede salvezza “”, the exclusive Netflix mini-series,

Ezio Greggio will recognize the MCFF Award presented to Marco D’Amore. Finally, the MCFF Career Award will go to Marco Giallini. Among the young international talent Ezio Greggio will also reward Victor Belmondo.

Among the personalities who will attend the evening are Piero Chiambretti, Barbara D’Urso and Mario De La Rosa (La Casa de Papel), who returns to the Festival after having been part of the jury two years ago.

Monte-Carlo Film Festival
Neri Marcoré ©S.Chiappalone MCFF

The Jury 

Once again this year, the films in competition and out of competition will be submitted to the judgment of the international jury chaired by Giancarlo Giannini, cinema legend, international actor, voice actor, screenwriter and film director who recently received the star of the Walk of Fame (nominee for the Oscars of the films: “Pasqualino Settebellezze”, “Casino Royale” and “Quantum of Solace”).

Monte-Carlo Film Festival
Richard Anconina ©S.Chiappalone MCFF

In the jury, next to Giannini, the French actor Richard Anconina (“The truth if I lie”, “Itinerary of a spoiled child”); international star Nathalie Poza, (winner of the Goya Prize as best actress for ‘No sé decir adiós’ and as best actress in a supporting role for “La Boda de Rosa”, “Rifkin’s Festival”) and Neri Marcorè, actor, comedian , singer and voice actor (“Quando”, Nastro d’Argento Prize for “Il Cuore Altrove”, “La seconda notte di nozze”).

Show More
Back to top button