Latest news

The Jury of the 75th Festival de Cannes and its President unveiled

French actor Vincent Lindon will be the President of the Jury of the 75th Festival de Cannes. Together with eight jury members, the actor who won Best Actor in 2015 will present the Palme d’Or to one of the 21 films in competition on Saturday, May 28, during the closing ceremony, to be broadcast live by France Télévisions and Brut.

Isabelle Huppert was the last French star to be Jury President in 2009. In the history of the Festival, French celebrities have often held this role in an anniversary year, such as Yves Montand in 1987 for the 40th Festival, Gérard Depardieu in 1993 for the 45th Festival, and Isabelle Adjani in 1997 for the 50th. 

Cannes Film Festival
Photo credit: FDC

The Jury

Vincent Lindon – President, Actor

Rebecca Hall, Actress, producer, screenwriter, director

Deepika Padukone, Actress

Noomi Rapace, Actress

Jasmine Trinca, Actress, director

Asghar Farhadi, Director, producer, screenwriter

Ladj Ly, Director, screenwriter, actor, producer

Jeff Nichols, Director, screenwriter

Joachim Trier, Director, screenwriter

Also Jasmine Trinca’s first feature film Marcel! will be presented in Special Screening.

Cannes Film Festival
Photo credit: Jean-Louis Hupe / FDC

Actress Rossy de Palma, President of the Jury of the Caméra d’or

Following Mélanie Thierry in 2021, Spanish actress Rossy de Palma will be the President of the Jury of the Caméra d’or of the 75th Festival de Cannes, which will be awarded to a film among all the first feature films in the official Selection and in the parallel sections.

In 2018, Lukas Dhont, who is featured this year in the Competition, was awarded the Caméra d’Or for his film Girl. In 2019, the Caméra d’or was awarded to filmmaker César Diaz for his film Nuestras madres and it was awarded in 2021 to director Antoneta Alamat Kusijanović for Murina, which is currently in theaters in France. The Jury will present the award at the Festival’s closing ceremony on Saturday, May 28, 2022.

Boldness and spontaneity are the key drivers of the first films competing for the Caméra d’or. So who could better support the début of those directors than Rossy de Palma, an actress known for her originality and panache? Her face, her charisma, her demeanor, she is the ultimate muse. When she invented herself into an actress in Pedro Almodóvar’s Law of Desire, her flamboyance and energy appealed to viewers as she made the silver screen her home. Since then she has been cast in numerous international films and has worked many times in France. She comes as a constant surprise and displays many talents: singer, actress, icon. Every appearance is an opportunity for her to regenerate and reengineer the initial startle.

An inspiring figure of the Festival de Cannes, she ran in the Competition with Pedro Almodovar in 2009 with Broken Embraces and in 2016 with Julieta. She also came with Terry Gilliam’s The Man who Killed Don Quixote that was screened at the close of the Festival in 2018.

Cannes Film Festival
Photo credit: FDC

Jury of the Caméra d’or

In accordance with the tradition, the jury consists of French representatives of the industry (media, industry, filmmaker associations) and two guest artists along with Rossy de Palma.

  • Rossy de Palma – Présidente, Actress
  • For the FICAM Fédération des industries du Cinéma, de l’Audiovisuel et du Multimédia Natasza Chroscicki, CEO of ARRI France
  • For the AFC Association française des directeurs de la photographie cinématographique Jean-Claude Larrieu, Cinematographer
  • For the SRF Société des Réalisateurs de Films Éléonore Weber, Auteure, metteuse en scène & cinéaste
  • For the SFCC Syndicat français de la critique de films Olivier Pelisson, Journalist & film critic
  • Guests: Lucien Jean-Baptiste, Director, screenwriter & actor
  • Samuel Le Bihan, Actor

The 75th Festival de Cannes – Short Film Jury

The Short Film Jury will be tasked with selecting one of the 9 films in Competition for the Short Film Palme d’or, to be awarded at the Festival’s Closing Ceremony on Saturday, May 28, 2022. Last year, the award went to Hong Kong director Tang Yi for her film All the Crows in the World.

The Jury will also award three La Cinef prizes to the best of the 16 films from film schools presented this year. The prizes will be awarded at a ceremony prior to the screening of the award-winning films on Thursday, May 26th, 2022.

Cannes Film Festival
Photo credit: FDC

The Short Film Jury

Yousry Nasrallah – President, Director

Monia Chokri, Actress & director

Laura Wandel, Director & screenwriter

Félix Moati, Actor & director

Jean-Claude Raspiengeas, Journalist & Film critic

The 75th Festival de Cannes will take place from 17 to 28 May 2022.

Source: Festival de Cannes

Show More
Back to top button