Latest news

The Winners of the 19th Monte-Carlo Comedy Film Festival

The 19th Edition of the Monte-Carlo Film Festival de la Comédie, directed by Ezio Greggio, from the 25 to the 30th of April in Monaco came to the end.

The Jury, Paul Haggis (Presidente),Tom Leeb, Clara Ponsot, and Pierpaolo Spollon have finally decided the Prizes.

The Canadian Film Babysitter gets 2 prizes for Best Film and Best Actor to Steve Laplante.

19th Monte-Carlo Comedy Film Festival
Best Movie Award BABYSITTER ©MCFF S.Chiappalone

The Spanish Director Dani De la Orden  is the Best Director for Mamá o papá, a film that also gets the Best Actress prize to Miren Ibarguren.

19th Monte-Carlo Comedy Film Festival
Best Film Director Dani De La Orden movie MAMA’ O PAPA’ on stage with Ezio Greggio©MCFF S.Chiappalone

The Danish film Miss Viborg gets the Special Jury Award for an outstanding first feature film.

19th Monte-Carlo Comedy Film Festival
Special Jury Award movie Miss Viborg ©Martin Munch

Also, The  Monte Carlo Film Festival Jury wanted to  give a prize to Odd-Magnus Williamson per Best Screenwriting with Nothing to Laugh About.

The Italian comedy Una Boccata d’aria directed by Alessio Lauria gets the Premio del Pubblico (Popular Jury Prize).

19th Monte-Carlo Comedy Film Festival
Prix du Public Aldo Baglio movie Una boccata d’aria ©MCFF S.Chiappalone

Finally, the Short Comedy Award prize goes to A guide to dining out in Nairobi (Kenya).

Following  the motivation of the 19° Monte-Carlo Film Festival de la Comédie.

Charity Award Can Yaman ©MCFF S.Chiappalone


The award for the Best Comedy of the 19th edition of the Monte Carlo CFF goes to Babysitter for its originality, for having obtained it through raw and politically incorrect irony, extraordinary staging and incredible dialogues. For the courage with which the director has chosen to tell the misogyny and the power with which she manages to reach the viewer.

Best Director: DANI DE LA ORDEN (Mamá o papá)

Dani De la Orden has been able to build an extraordinary storytelling through images, managing to tell with a fast pace and perfect shots a story capable of making people laugh and excite.

Best Actor: STEVE LAPLANTE (Babysitter’s journalist brother)

In an extremely difficult role to play, Steve Laplante was able to control his performance perfectly without ever falling into exaggeration. An actor who accompanies the emotional change of his character throughout the film, who takes a position before and the opposite one after, to finally return to the starting point, thus narrating the stereotype of the male gender in an excellent way.

Best Actress: MIREN IBARGUREN (Mamá o Papá)

Miren Ibarguren is magnetic, true and intense to the point of making you fall in love. In the role of a mother in the moment of separation, she was able to convey anger and desire for revenge, she told the joy and tenderness, mood changes and everyday life in a sublime way. A fun, spontaneous, extraordinary performance.

Best Screenwriting: ODD-MAGNUS WILLIAMSON (Nothing to Laugh About)

This special award, wanted by the Monte Carlo Jury for the first time, goes to the writing of “Nothing to Laugh About” for having been able to tell hope through a surprising development of a story that, despite the sadness of the facts narrated, manages to convey joy and offer a new point of view on the meaning of life.

Special Jury Award for an outstanding first feature film: MISS VIBORG

“An amazing movie, we were blown away by this movie”. A work that is a masterpiece.

19th Monte-Carlo Comedy Film Festival
Next Generation Award Under 30 Lorenzo Zurzolo and Giancarlo Commare ©MCFF S.Chiappalone

Guests, Gala night and Winners

Ezio Greggio, together with Cristina Marino (Il talento del Calabrone, Vacanze ai Caraibi), will host the Gala award ceremony where international talents will be attending, winners of this edition of the Festival. Stefania Sandrelli (Divorzio all’Italiana, C’eravamo tanto amati, Prosciutto, prosciutto) confirmed her presence as  special guest, being honored of the Movie Legend Award, while also Luca  Argentero (Doc-nelle tue mani, Le fate Ignoranti -la serie, Come un gatto in tangenziale- ritorno a Coccia de Morto) will receive a lifetime achievement award. The talented actress Ludovica Martino, known for the famous tv series Skam, together with the teenidol Lorenzo Zurzolo (Baby, Summertime, Eo) will receive the Next Generation Award as Best Under30 Performer. Plus, Giancarlo Commare ( Skam, Ancora più bello, Sempre più bello, Maschile Singolare) will be awarded as Monte Carlo Film Festival-Next Generation Comedy Award winner for his performance in the film Ancora più bello. Chairman of the Jury Paul Haggis (Crash-contatto fisico, Million Dollar Baby) will receive the prestigious Movie Legend Award. Among the stars attending the gala, the showman Piero Chiambretti, the famous journalist Cesara Buonamici, the former Juventus footbal player Andrea Barzagli, the histrionic anchorman Alessandro Cattelan and the charming Turkish actor Can Yaman, who we will watch soon on tv in “Sandokan”.

During the evening the member of the Jury Tom Leeb sang the song Sun.

19th Monte-Carlo Comedy Film Festival
Performing Tom Leeb ©MCFF S.Chiappalone

The event, in collaboration with EFG Bank ( Monaco), has always been held under the High Patronage of S.A.S. Prince Albert II de Monaco and of the Italian Embassy

Show More
Back to top button